What’s ISO And Its Types?

International trade is valuable because it set strict standards that all goods must comply with. They aim to increase safety and security worldwide by improving industrial welfare.

Creating a comprehensive standard takes research and dedication. Experts from a specific subject area meet to discuss ways to improve. After these discussions, the organization comes to a consensus through a voting process. This process usually takes three years. The following four scenarios are required for an organization to establish standards:

  • There is a need on the market
  • An international gathering of experts
  • Multi-stakeholder development
  • All parties come to a consensus
  • History and achievements

Why Is ISO Certification Important?

ISO certifications are obtained from third parties and act as proof that a company abides by the International Organization for Standardization standards. Clients and other stakeholders are assured that the company is efficient and upholds high standards. There are four types of ISO certifications.

ISO 9000

The ISO 9000 certification is one of the most popular. This grouping includes QMS (Quality Management Systems) that are designed to help companies meet both customer and stakeholder needs. This is the simplest form of the ISO’s mission.

ISO 9001

To ensure product conformance with standardized requirements, companies choose ISO 9001. The product can also be used to refer to services, products, and hardware. This certification is more proof of the products a company provides than for the entity.

ISO 13485

ISO 13485 is a sector-specific certificate for the automotive industry. It sets standards that automotive distributors and manufacturers must adhere to to ensure quality and efficiency. These standards are particularly useful for international shipping.

ISO 14001

The ISO 14001 Environmental Management System (EMS) is a certification that focuses on a company’s environmental impact. This certification certifies that entities have reduced their environmental impact through their activities. Due to consumer concerns about corporate environmental impact, this certification is becoming more popular.

How Do I Get ISO Certified?

Companies that ship internationally and mass-produce are the most likely to seek ISO certifications. These companies deal with international trade agreements and laws. It is almost a requirement to be certified according to global standards. The ISO 9001 certification is highly sought-after. However, there are certain requirements that a company must fulfill before it can contact a certification body. These steps will show you how to earn ISO 9001 certification and an official audit.

  1. Develop A Quality Management System

To earn an ISO certification, the first step is to create a quality management system that is unique to your business. Analyze core business processes and identify areas for improvement. Document the processes of managers and teams at every level. The ISO standards will be used to help you create a most effective QMS. The new process should be described in a document and distributed to all levels of business.

  1. The New System Of Quality Management Is Now In Place

Next, you will need to start the new QMS. You should also monitor its progress. Make sure that all procedures are followed according to the new documentation. Make sure that teams are properly trained in new methods if the new system calls for new processes. A reporting system is often helpful so that both managers and team members can report issues as they arise. These issues can be reviewed and addressed as necessary.

  1. Perform An External Audit

After some time passes and all issues have been addressed, you can schedule an audit with a certification body. An auditor will assess the QMS at all levels and look for any potential issues. Then, he or she will determine if it is compliant with ISO standards. They may require access to documentation to compare the actual work to be done.

  1. Register Your Quality Management System

If the company passes inspection they can register their QMS to be certified. They collect all documentation and submit it for review to the certifying body. After the documentation is reviewed, the company receives certification. However, standards can change over time. The QMS requires that the company be audited every three years to maintain its certification. After passing the audit, the company is eligible for re-certification.